And so it began

I am only four weeks behind, but we did in fact start school here…AND I have the picture of his first day of fifth grade and her third to prove it.

DSCN8501

Better late than never.

What you need to know about this picture is, 1) I didn’t take it; 2) I wasn’t even home; 3) It was right after my hubby got back from a 10 day missions trip to Alaska; 4) He sent me on a kid-free day where I was supposed to relax, do something I enjoy – or a lot of things, and just breathe deeply after a very long 10 days of single parenting; 5) I very foolishly, but practically made myself a dental appointment (because it’s so easy to go to the dentist without kids!).

It was an early appointment.  I figured I’d be done in an hour and have the rest of the day to enjoy.

What I didn’t put into my calculations was that I hadn’t been to the dentist in about three years.  I also had been having tooth sensitivity for months, and hadn’t had x-rays in at least 6 years because of pregnancy.

The check-up, x-rays, and cleaning left me with the doctor swinging through the door to say I infact had a large cavity in the offensive tooth.  But she could fill it for me that day.  I said sure, let’s do it and get it over with while I’m kidless. What’s another 30 minutes?   She then went on to explain that it was in a tight spot where a filling would work, but a crown would be better long term. I figured that couldn’t be too much worse.

She filed the tooth down, put the temporary crown on, and I was dismissed with a numb mouth and a crowning appointment in two weeks.  An hour later as I was wandering a store, the numbness began to leave and nerve pain washed over me like a wave.  Nerve pain is no joke!  I ended up coming home hungry (can’t eat after all that!), exhausted, put myself to bed with a big amount of Ibuprofen, and tried not to move or breathe for as long as possible.

And so it began.

I am growing old.

As are these kiddos.

Happy growing older to all you other humans.  Glad we’re in this together.  🙂

Leave a Reply

