Looking up

I got off the phone with her, and knew. This is the way it’s supposed to be.  Just a simple conversation, yet a means of grace for a younger woman.   The thirty minutes of casual talk filled up a space in my soul that longs for relationship and understanding from someone who’s been there and done that!

It’s not every day my grandma calls, or that I call her.  Life and distance has a way of separating these moments more and more…(and I admittedly am not a phone person, so….).

She asked about the kids.  About the summer and things we’ve been experiencing.  We touched on our churches and our faith.  The words she spoke to me were few…mostly questions for me to answer.  But she listened, and laughed, and identified.  And when she did speak, her words were full of a knowing and kindness for someone just starting out on paths she’s already worn bare.  They spoke of goodness and hope for each day as needed.DSCN5799

As our conversation came to an end, she left me with this exhortation:

 “Keep looking up.”

Seems simplistic perhaps.  But, while this woman’s body is slowing down, there’s nothing weak about her mind or the godly wisdom she exudes.  Her words were full of meaning to me as she asked me to remember the hope I, as a Jesus follower, have in the coming return of our Saviour.  There is no need to worry, He will make all things right.

It was the Truth I needed to give me courage that day. .

God is still at work.  He’s coming back!  He hasn’t forgotten us or our struggles or the happenings of this world.  He is HERE, whether we look to Him or not!

Anyone could have told me the same words.  But I needed to hear them from HER.

From a faithful older woman, to a younger, sometimes overhwhelmed one.   Not words of judgement or disrespect,  but a listening, understanding heart that offers life-giving, uplifting grace and has the credentials of having gone through the fires of life a time or two.  She KNOWS firsthand that when we look to the finish line and the glory to come, we run better, stay on course, and perservere when our race seems too hard.

This is the kind of cheerleader I need!  And God knows just the time for a Grandma call.

Keep looking up!

Our God isn’t finished with us yet.

Likewise, [pastors] teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good.  Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children,  to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.”  Titus 2:3-4 NLT

Leave a Reply

