Keeping the fun in summer

If there’s anything I need to be reminded to do more, it’s to LIGHTEN UP!

I am a schedule-oriented, task completing, discipline-is-always-a-good-thing kind of person.   And I thought it worked pretty well for me most of my life.

IMG_0170

But God, in His rich mercy, knowing that I have this inborn bent to productivity and not to goofing off, made sure that I would not be stuck in a mold.

And so He gave me children.

And summer breaks.

Oldest's pirate ship painting got put on a town mural.
Oldest’s pirate ship painting got put on a town mural.

As much as I loathe the mundane of school season, I also really love it.  It is the perfect set up for a scheduled, goal loving person.  Every hour is planned, bedtimes must be kept, every none-school moment can be filled with chores and music lessons and family time…….     You know the drill.

His new toy...bought with dog sitting money!
His new toy…bought with dog sitting money!

So when summer break comes and all the rigidity of the last nine months wears off, I can end up being a real kill-joy/stick in the mud after about day four of the kid’s glorious vacation.

Bedtimes reappear.  Chores start being created.  Reading logs are instituted.  Every mess gets chased down and correction seems to become the name of the game.  And I end up becoming queen bee instead of gentle, compassionate, loving, caring mom.

Throwing candy off the float in our annual 4th of July parade.
Throwing candy off the float in our annual 4th of July parade.

And so I have to go back to the basics that have been lovingly reinforced in me for many years in this raising of children phase of life:

HAVE FUN!

GO PLAY!

ENJOY THE MESS!

LIGHTEN UP!

This week, while my hubby’s at camp, and my wit’s end has been found many times over, I’m taking these words to heart.

Which is why my children ate leftover 4th of July chocolate cake for breakfast on Tuesday, IMG_2144

Played in the river for hours on Wednesday,

IMG_2143

Are delving into making their own lunches (it’s been a cheese quesadilla kind of week),

IMG_2142

And are camping out in the backyard tonight…to name a few.

IMG_2159

And I am saying yes more, even when every fiber of my being wants to say no.  Because sometimes a mom’s just got to lighten up, and enjoy the fleeting days of summer, and her youth.

“And I commend joy, for man has no good thing under the sun but to eat and drink and be joyful, for this will go with him in his toil through the days of his life that God has given him under the sun.” 

Ecclesiastes 8:15 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

