Freezer Meals – NO PICS INCLUDED :(

I’ve been asked quite often what I freeze away for baby’s arrival – as in what kind of foods I freeze away, that is.  🙂  The truth is, I freeze away just about everything all year long.  It comes in so handy when I need a quick option after being out all day, or a friend is sick, or I just can’t think of anything else to cook.

But, I do have my go-to favorites that I usually have at least a few of in my freezer at all times.  Sorry there are no pictures of these yummy meals.  Someday, I’ll add those, but I don’t have them today.

(I use abbreviations like C for cup, T for Tablespoon, and t for teaspoon)

Hawaiian Chicken (morphed from my sister-in-law’s recipe)

In a crock-pot add:
2/3 C water
2/3 C soy sauce ~ I like to use low sodium, but either is great.
2/3 C white sugar
2-4 T ground garlic OR 2-4 cloves crushed garlic
1 T brown sugar (often I’ll forego the white sugar, and just put in all brown sugar)
1 t grated ginger
8-10 thighs, wings, drumsticks…whatever.  For easiest making, use boneless chicken. 
 Cook on high in crock-pot for 5-6 hours.
Remove chicken from sauce.
Peel skin and bones away and set meat back in sauce. Transfer to a pot, add some corn-starch and boil over stove until thickness desired. 
This serves about two meals to our family.
 

French Bread

2 1/4 t yeast
2 T sugar
2 1/2 C warm water
Add first three ingredients together in mixer (I use my Kitchen Aid) and leave for five minutes.  Then add
1 T salt
1 T melted butter
7 C flour (add one at a time while dough hook is turning)
Once dough is a ball, let the machine run for about five minutes (this is the kneading process that you could do on your counter). 
Cover bowl with towel and leave in a warm place for an hour.  Once it has doubled in size,
Sprinkle some cornmeal on a cookie sheet to prevent the bread from sticking. 
Divide dough in two.  Roll dough (I do this in my hands, not the counter) into a long “hot dog” shape and place on cookie sheet.  Repeat with remaining dough. 
Leave rolls to rise for another hour
If I need it more quickly, I will put bread dough into cold oven, turn heat to 350′ and allow them to rise in the baking process. 
Bake at 350′ for 25 minutes. 
Allow to cool completely before bagging and freezing. 
 

Curry Chicken and Veggies

Cut up 3-4 chicken breasts OR 8-10 tenderloins into bite size pieces, as well as desired veggies.  I use sweet peppers, peas, 2-3 large (skinned) carrots, and one onion. Place in deep sided pan.   
Add garlic, about 2-3 T,
One can coconut milk,
2-3 cups of water (depends on how thick you like your sauce)
2-3 T of Curry powder
1 T sugar
Bring to a boil, cover and lower heat to allow it to simmer until everything is melt in your mouth tender. 
AND if you don’t have kids and like a kick in your curry sauce, add some dried red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper.  I add these on my own serving and leave their’s plain.  
 

Ham and Potato soup

Cauliflower Soup

“This stuff is awesome!!” Said all my family…and my kids don’t like cauliflower.

Cabbage Soup

1 lb ground beef/turkey
1 head cabbage, chopped
1 onion, diced
Add first three ingredients in soup pot first.  Meat should be browned and onion soft before adding other ingredients.
2 1/2 C beef stock (or substitute with 3 beef boullion cubes)
4 C water
2 T Worchester sauce
3 T sugar
1 1/2 t salt
1 bay leaf
add pepper to your liking. 
Simmer together one hour, then stir in 2 (6oz) cans of tomato paste. 
 

Lasagna

1 lb ground beef
1 onion, diced
2 T garlic
Brown meat with onion and garlic.  Add,
1 can tomatoes, diced
1 can tomato sauce
1 can tomato paste (6oz)
2 t dried basil
1 t dried oregano
Allow to simmer on stove while putting together other ingredients. 
10 lasagna noodles
(lay first layer -about three noodles, in 9×13 pan)
In a separate bowl, combine these:
1 beaten egg
2 cups cottage cheese/ricotta
1/2 C grated parmesan
3 T parsley
6-8 oz shredded mozzarella
Start layering ingredients.  Noodles, red sauce, cheese mix, noodles, red sauce, cheese mix, etc. 
Place in preheated oven (I like to put it on a cookie sheet so my oven stays clean).
Bake at 375 for 30-35 min.  Allow to cool, enjoy a meal of it, and freeze leftovers. 
 

Spaghetti Sauce

Use your favorite red sauce.  I usually use whatever’s on sale, currently that’s been Hunt’s Four Cheese sauce for $1. 
Brown 8-16 oz ground beef or turkey with other favorite ingredients. 
I like to use a half a diced onion and can of mushrooms.  SIMPLE! 
 Freeze for later use. I don’t freeze noodles.  They’re so quick and easy, I’d rather make them fresh any day. 
 

Chili

I use the McCormick seasoning pack, but add a lot more to their basic recipe. 
With one seasoning packet, I put in
One diced onion
One lb ground, turkey meat
2 cans kidney beans
1 can pinto beans
1-2 cans chili beans
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
 
It’s always a huge hit, and probably my absolute favorite freezer meal.  Tastes better with age!  🙂
 

Corn muffins

Use you’re favorite cornbread mix.  I use the corn muffin recipe on the Albers Yellow Corn Meal box. 

One comment

Leave a Reply

