Christmas Cheer

December’s arrived and I have every intention of enjoying this time of year by having things done in a timely manner, including our family Christmas photo/card.  So, I planned it all out.  We’d dress in our holiday colors for church today, and then real quick, before kids got messy or disheveled, we’d snap a few pictures and be on our way to Sunday school.  Perfect plans don’t usually turn out quite like you envisioned, however.  I should know this by now.

Everything was going great.  The kids were dressed, I was ready.  My man was studying and awaiting my call to come take the pic.  I decided to pull out the camera and take a few fun shots to get the kids in happy picture form.  DSCN3039  We were having such fun. DSCN3041I got some curtsies from our ballerina.

DSCN3049

DSCN3048

And some kisses!

DSCN3034

DSCN3050

Looking good so far.  They were happy, everyone was smiling and being very cooperative.  I’m thinking “This plan is gonna work PERFECTLY.  We even have time to spare.”  As I’m photographing my handsome boys, laughing at their cuteness, my little lady is sitting at the table and suddenly starts……PUKING!!!  No!!!  All over her pretty dress, all over her shoes and the table.  The whole morning flashes through my head.  Why do my kids always get sick on Sunday morning?  I have responsibilities and PLANS!

What’s really sad about this whole story is that Half-Pint told me at breakfast her throat felt like she was going to throw up.  The only thing is that she’s said this before…every time she doesn’t want to eat something…so I didn’t take it seriously.  She was told to sit up and finish her whole bowl of cereal.  She seemed just fine, and went on to get dressed, have her hair done, etc.

Needless to say, all of that required breakfast came back up.  UGH

In true motherly form, I cleaned up the mess, redressed her, called my husband and took our family picture regardless.   You gotta work with what you got when you have kids.  🙂

DSCN3051

She even smiled for us.

We kept it short and simple, and only took two pics.  We didn’t even look at them to make sure they worked…otherwise I would have wanted a few retakes.  As it was, we just took them and ran…back to the house and a couch for the sick girl. Sometimes simple is good enough…and shows family in all it’s realness.

Just another saga in the story of my humbling.

“Many are the plans in a [mother’s] heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”  Proverbs 19:12

One comment

  1. Love the way you write. :). So true about plans. Moms must be flexible and patient. Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family.

Leave a Reply

