Menu

With a fourth child coming soon, food prices going up, and a hubby on a high protein diet as of recently, I’ve decided to go back to weekly menu planning.  I used to do this to make sure I got everything I needed at the store, but at some point after we moved here, I stopped. Not sure exactly why, but probably because it was just another step to do before going to the “big city”.

Now, I will often buy the same item I already have because I’m not scouring my cabinets closely enough or I’ll get to the store with only a small list of things I know I’m out of, and fill my cart with potentially needed things on top of those items. That adds up pretty quickly and I usually pay for my lack of planning with a large grocery bill.   So, in an effort to get off on the right foot, I’m including this on my blog for a little accountability/push to discipline myself again to sit down and think through our food needs for the week, BEFORE my weekly shopping day,  Tuesdays.

Tuesday (SHOPPING DAY)

Breakfast – Oatmeal w/diced apples & walnuts

Lunch – in town

Dinner – Smoked salmon patties with brown rice and zucchini (from the greenhouse!), homemade bread

Make smoked salmon dip (cream cheese, chives, salmon)

Wednesday  (Hubby working for Woods in AM, Leadership Meeting @ 6:45)

Breakfast – Eggs on toast, pears

Lunch – deli sandwiches, chips & salsa

Dinner – Cabbage Soup & homemade bread

Thursday (Bible Study, Parent/Teacher conferences – NO SCHOOL, Ballet)

Breakfast – Cold cereal & Protein shake for hubby

Lunch – Peanut Butter & Jelly, Wheat Thins

Dinner – Parmesan chicken, mashed potatoes, and salad

Friday (Nutcracker ballet practice)

Breakfast – Bacon Sandwiches, fruit

Lunch – Clean egg salad sandwiches & Wheat Thins

Dinner – Shepherd’s Pie with leftover mashed potatoes, homemade bread

Saturday

Breakfast – Pancakes, applesauce, eggs

Lunch – Turkey Dogs, fruit

Dinner – Tacos

Sunday (CHURCH, Sunday night football – invite someone over)

Breakfast -cold cereal, protein shake for hubby

Lunch – Tuna sandwiches, Ritz crackers and cheese, fruit

Dinner – Ground turkey stroganoff, green beans

Monday ( Elder Meeting – NO SCHOOL)

Breakfast – waffles & bacon

Lunch – peanut butter & jam, pita chips & hummus

Dinner – Spaghetti, salad, homemade bread

SHOPPING LIST:

Milk

Eggs

Cheddar cheese

Hot dog buns

Tortilla chips

Mom’s Natural cold cereal

Bacon

Greek yogurt

Avocado

Cream Cheese

Chives

OJ

Not too much.   One of my goals is to spend less each shopping trip and hopefully keep our grocery costs under $300/month.    Another goal is to be better prepared each day…rather than deciding what to have at 4pm. I know there’s a place for that, but not every day!

It’s always a work in progress keeping up with the feeding of my growing family.  Here’s to menu planning and a more organized week!

Leave a Reply

