image Salsa Success

20120925-164812.jpg

My latest pregnancy craze has been homemade salsa.  Store stuff just won’t do.  I’d rather go without!  The problem is, I’d never made salsa before a couple months ago, so I’ve kinda been experiementing to create a recipe we all really like.  Sometimes I get Yay! and sometimes I get Ok.  Today was a Yay, so I thought I’d share.

My ingredients:

1/2 Yellow Onion

1/2 Green Pepper

1 Vine ripened tomato

1 can of diced tomatoes

2 Tablespoons Lime Juice

2 Tablespoons Diced Garlic

2 Jalapenos

Handful of cilantro

Salt to taste

I have a manual food processor, but I’ve also used my blender.  I like the consistency better with the food processor for sure.

So, I pretty much just throw all the ingredients in, minus the sprigs on the cilantro, and give them a good arm-workout whirl until the consistency is reached that we enjoy.  The salt is added last so I don’t get too much in.  I sample along the way to make sure one flavor isn’t taking over.

Make sure to have your favorite corn chip on hand, or you may end up just eating this stuff plain.   We really like the Tostitos bite size or restaurant style chips.  Beware, this may be addicting!!

Leave a Reply

