Treasures

Most summer mornings my oldest awakes earlier than the rest of the family and often has a project underway or completed by the time we roll out of bed (I wish I was that motivated!). This morning as I cleaned up breakfast I put him to the task of picking an activity from our summer list. He decided it was treasure hunt day. His assignment: 10 green and 10 sharp things. He did find 10 green things, but got distracted on the sharp assignment. Something about boys and sharp things. Soon he was off chasing birds and shooting rocks with his birthday sling shot.
Half-pint, in her usual quiet thoughtfulness offered to treasure hunt with her notebook and a pen, drawing her findings. She ended up distracted in a pile of books Littlest dumped off the shelf, reading EACH one then putting it back on the shelf.
My own treasure was discovered in completing my Bible study homework on JOY.   It’s what the world longs for and does not fully grasp. It is an essential part of the fruit of the Spirit and I can personally testify, is absolutely essential for this life!  Sometimes there’s just a nugget in my study that sticks with me all day.  Today’s was Psalm 51:12-13.  King David is repentant before the Lord for his sins of adultery and murder, and he says “Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, so that sinners will turn back to you.”  Joy is what makes that possible.  Not just happiness, but divine joy.  Joy in God’s salvation.  I don’t know about you, but that’s not something I can muster up on my own when life seems against me or I’ve blown it again. It’s something God has to restore in me, and I’m certainly thankful He does!

The sun was shining for us today so we took time to do more work on our ever changing backyard.  I dug up a whole area covered in bulbs and the kids went to town finding worm after fat juicy worm to run over to the greenhouse.  We have an on-going deal that, when deposited, they receive a nickel for each specimen placed into the planters.  They are each about $2 richer today!  Speaking of that greenhouse,  it is bursting with lush, leafy life.  The lettuce and spinach are harvestable  meaning we enjoyed another fresh salad for dinner tonight!  I love summer.

Littlest took it upon himself to play with and lick a slug today, cover himself in mud, fall off the deck, and smear cottage cheese through his hair. Have you ever tried to get cottage cheese out of thick baby hair? Not something I plan to repeat.  There will be no more self-feeding of cottage cheese.  🙂 

Ours was a day of treasure finding. A day of joy, amidst trials and tantrums.

  I hope you were able to see the treasures in your day too.

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights,

 who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:17

(My own treasures enjoying a family movie night.  Littlest didn’t feel he was getting enough attention so he plopped down right in front of and on big brother to play with his blocks.)

Leave a Reply

